adventures in pasta: my attempt at carbonara

Tonight I was hungry. Very, very hungry.The French don’t usually eat until around 7:30 or later, so to me, being hungry this early was odd. (I’ll rant on America’s odd eating habits some other time.) So, I decided to whip up How Sweet Eats’ Portobello and Leek Carbonara. I didn’t have Portobellos, so I used some questionably old mushrooms from the last harvest of Little Red Barn Produce, a local farm (their produce is outstanding). It turns out they were just young enough because they were crisp when fried while still retaining their flavor. Also, the leeks I bought a few weeks ago died, so I added my favorites: half of a small onion and a few garlic cloves, since they come from the same family. (I know, I know. I’m addicted to garlic- it’s a real problem.) It was DELICIOUS. I had never made carbonara before (adding raw egg to a pasta mixture at the last second before serving) but it turned out well. I can only describe it as if one of my favorite French omelets and pasta had a love child. Plus, it has bacon! What more could you ask for? (I may or may not have added more piece(s) than necessary… ahem..) It was so delicious….

I forgot to take a picture to share on this post.

Oops.

Now on to dessert…..

Leave a Reply

